Nightwear for children

The mandatory standard prescribes requirements for safety testing and labelling of children's nightwear and paper patterns for making children's nightwear.

About the standard

The mandatory standard applies to nightwear for children that includes the following items:

  • pyjamas
  • pyjama-style over-garments
  • nightdresses
  • nightshirts
  • dressing gowns
  • bathrobes
  • infant sleep bags
  • other items styled and recognised as nightwear
  • knitted all-in-ones, sizes 00–2, of any style, made from fabrics with a mass less than 280 g/m2
  • knitted all-in-ones, sizes 2 and over, of a style which identifies them as nightwear
  • woven all-in-ones, of a style which identifies them as nightwear and
  • loose boxer shorts.

Unless stated otherwise, this refers to sizes 00–14.

The mandatory standard also covers paper patterns for making children's nightwear. The mandatory standard prescribes requirements for safety testing and labelling of children's nightwear and paper patterns for making children's nightwear.


The mandatory standard excludes the following type of garments:

  • leggings
  • t-shirts
  • close-fitting boxer shorts (underwear)
  • headwear (beanies, hats, headbands)
  • footwear (slippers, bed socks)
  • handwear (gloves, mittens)
  • swimwear.

Mandatory standard

Trade Practices (Consumer Product Safety Standards) (Children's Nightwear and Paper Patterns for Children's Nightwear) Regulations 2007 sets out the mandatory requirements for children's nightwear.

The mandatory standard is based on certain sections of the voluntary standard Australian and New Zealand Standard, AS/NZS 1249:2003, Children's nightwear and limited daywear having reduced fire hazard.  AS/NZS 1249:2003 is available from SAI Global.

Key requirements

These requirements aim to provide an overview of the mandatory standard. Suppliers must not rely on this information as a complete guide to compliance.

Safety categories

Nightwear for children (and some daywear) is classified into one of four categories, according to garment or fabric type.
Some garments are so flammable they cannot meet any of the four categories, so cannot be given a label and must not be sold.


Each category requires a label. Categories 1–3 require a low fire hazard label and category 4 requires a high fire hazard warning label.

Low fire hazard label

High fire hazard label

Category 1

Garments made from fabric and trims that pass low flammability tests. Examples include wool, some synthetics and some heavy cottons.

Category 2

Garments that are close fitting, such as pyjamas, do not ignite or burn as readily. As a result, they may be made from more flammable fabrics. Garment measurements apply according to size.

Category 3

Babies' all-in-ones have their own category because there is little difference between daywear and nightwear. This category covers all-in-one garments in sizes 00–2, such as jumpsuits and rompers. It applies to garments made mostly from knitted fabrics and with a mass less than 280 g/m2

Category 4

Applies to garments that do not fit categories 1, 2 or 3 but still meet some fabric, size and burning test requirements.


The mandatory standard specifies testing to ensure that nightwear for children meet requirements for fire hazards. Suppliers need to organise this testing through specialist laboratories.

Testing requirements include:

  • Fabric type: The type of fabric used in nightwear garments for children may require testing to establish the appropriate fire hazard category.

  • Fabric trims: Fabric trims need to meet certain requirements under the different fire hazard categories.

Safety markings for paper patterns


The envelope of the paper pattern must have a clear and legible warning about the flammability of some fabrics and nightwear styles.

The standard sets out specifications for the label typeface including the words 'FIRE WARNING' to appear in bold, uppercase lettering.

Related resources

Children's nightwear and paper patterns - Supplier guide