For suppliers: toppling furniture and TVs

We want to hear from you. We have published a consultation paper to seek your views on options to reduce toppling furniture dangers. Find out more.

Suppliers must report any death, serious injury or serious illness associated with any consumer good or product related service supplied.

Make sure you understand and fulfil your reporting obligations.

Your role in making furniture and TVs safer

Suppliers have important roles in:

  • designing furniture and TVs to be stable and able to be anchored
  • providing appropriate means to anchor their products
  • raising consumer awareness through information and safety guidance.

The National Retail Association published the Best Practice Guide for Furniture and Television Tip-Over Prevention (NRA Guide) in 2016. Make sure you’re familiar with the guide and follow its best practice recommendations.

When you sell products to Australia, you must comply with Australian product safety laws – no matter where you are located in the world. See our information about selling online.

Voluntary standards

Voluntary standards include specifications and procedures that address safety risks posed by consumer goods. There are no mandatory safety standards under the ACL specifically addressing the safety hazards presented by toppling furniture and TVs.

Standards Australia and Standards New Zealand jointly developed a voluntary standard called AS/NZS 4935:2009 Domestic furniture - Freestanding chests of drawers, wardrobes and bookshelves/bookcases - Determination of stability. The voluntary standard sets out stability tests for freestanding furniture, warning labels and recommends anchoring.

The voluntary standard was designed to address safety risks experienced by children younger than approximately 6 years, who may climb the face of furniture items such as by stepping on drawers.

Get a copy of AS/NZS 4935:2009 at:

Other relevant standards include those developed by the International Organization for Standardization, ASTM International and European Committee for Standardization.