Sunglasses & fashion spectacles

The mandatory standard prescribes requirements for lens categories, construction and labelling of sunglasses and fashion spectacles.

About the mandatory standard

The mandatory standard for sunglasses and fashion spectacles includes:

  • one-piece sunglasses
  • visor type sunglasses
  • clip-on sunglasses
  • children's sunglasses.


The mandatory standard does not apply to:

  • safety glasses and safety goggles intended to provide protection against optical radiation
  • eyewear for protection against radiation in solaria
  • ski goggles
  • glasses for use as toys and clearly and legibly labelled as toys
  • glasses or goggles for special use, including medical shields especially designed for use by vision impaired persons
  • prescription glasses.

Mandatory standard

Consumer Protection Notices No.13 of 2003 and No. 4 of 2005 sets out the mandatory requirements for sunglasses and fashion spectacles.

The mandatory standard is based on certain sections of the voluntary Australian/New Zealand  Standard AS/NZS 1067:2003 Sunglasses and fashion spectacles. AS/NZS 1067:2003 is available from SAI Global.

Key requirements

These requirements aim to provide an overview of the mandatory standard. Suppliers must not rely on this information as a complete guide to compliance.


The mandatory standard specifies marking and labelling requirements as well as testing procedures to ensure sunglasses and fashion spectacles meet specific performance, construction and labelling requirements. Suppliers need to organise this testing through specialist laboratories.


A five-category classification method identifies sunglasses and fashion spectacles by their performance in certain conditions and suitability for use. Under AS/NZS 1067:2003, sunglasses and fashion spectacles are classified as one of the following:

  • Lens category 0: Fashion spectacles - These are not sunglasses, as they have a very low ability to reduce sun glare. They provide limited UV protection.

  • Lens category 1: Fashion spectacles - Like category 0 lenses, these are not sunglasses; however, they do provide limited sun glare reduction and UV protection. Fashion spectacles with category 1 lenses are not suitable for driving at night.

  • Lens category 2: Sunglasses - These sunglasses provide a medium level of sun glare reduction and good UV protection.
  • Lens category 3: Sunglasses - Similar to category 2, these sunglasses provide a good level of UV protection. Lens category 3 glasses also provide a high level of sun glare reduction.
  • Lens category 4: Sunglasses - These are special purpose sunglasses that provide a very high level of sun glare reduction and good UV protection. Lens category 4 sunglasses must not be used when driving at any time.

In addition to the five category classifications above, the mandatory standard also covers the following:

  • Photochromic lenses - Also known as variable tint lenses, photochromic lenses may not be suitable for night driving, depending on their transmittance properties (i.e. their ability to reduce sun glare and level of UV protection).
  • Non-conforming lenses - These lenses have the ability to alter a person's colour recognition, and in particular the detection of traffic light colours. In some cases these lenses must not be used when driving.


The mandatory standard requires that:

  • lenses and frames be free of projections and sharp edges which may be likely to cause injury during their use
  • lenses in both sunglasses and fashion spectacles must be firmly and securely fitted to the frame
  • all sunglasses, except fashion spectacles, must cover a minimum field of view
  • adult sunglasses must cover two ellipses of 40 mm wide and 28 mm high, with centres separated by at least 64 mm
  • children's sunglasses must cover two ellipses of 34 mm wide and 24 mm high, with centres separated by at least 54 mm.

Marking and labelling

The marking or labelling must be unobscured by other stickers or labels such as price labels. All assembled sunglasses must be clearly and legibly marked or labelled with:

  • the identity of the manufacturer or supplier
  • the lens category number
  • one of the lens and category descriptions listed below.

Lens category 0

  • Fashion spectacles—not sunglasses
  • Very low sun glare reduction
  • Some UV protection

Lens category 1

  • Fashion spectacles—not sunglasses
  • Limited sun glare reduction
  • Some UV protection
  • Not suitable for driving at night.

Lens category 2

  • Sunglasses
  • Medium sun glare reduction
  • Good UV protection.

Lens category 3

  • Sunglasses
  • High sun glare reduction
  • Good UV protection.

Lens category 4

  • Sunglasses—special purpose
  • Very high sun glare reduction
  • Good UV protection
  • Must not be used when driving.

This required symbol must be a minimum height of 5 mm:

Symbol of a crossed out car.

Related resources

Sunglasses and fashion spectacles: supplier guide